Home Mombasa County News

Mombasa County News

Mombasa County

Mombasa County is one of the 47 counties of Kenya. Its capital and the only city in the county is Mombasa. Initially, it was one of the former districts of Kenya but in 2013 it was reconstituted as a county, on the same boundaries. It is the smallest county in Kenya, covering an area of 229.7 km2 excluding 65 km2 of the water mass. Mombasa County is situated in the southeastern part of the former Coast Province. It borders Kilifi County to the north, Kwale County to the south-west and the Indian Ocean to the east. Administratively, the county is divided into seven divisions, eighteen locations and thirty sub-locations.

Kenya was divided into eight provinces prior to 2013, which were subdivided into 47 counties. In the former Coast Province, there are six counties, Mombasa being one of them. It is situated in the southeast of Coast Province. It is the smallest in size, covering an area of 212.5 km².[1] The county lies between latitudes 3°56’ and 4°10’ south of the equator and longitudes 39°34’ and 39°46’ east.

Mombasa County is an urban city county and for this reason, there is a large population of both local and immigrant communities. The local communities include the Mijikenda, Swahili and Kenyan Arabs. The Mijikenda is the largest community in Mombasa county making almost 35% of the total population in the county. The immigrant Kamba community is the second largest ethnic community in the county making almost 30% of the total population of the county. The Kamba people have been known for their expansive knowledge of business and trade ranging from small scale to large scale followed closely by their GEMA counterparts. Other significant immigrant communities include the Luo, Luhya and Somali communities.

Mombasa County

Select your constituency to view your leaders